Best of the Boards


The Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees was selected as an Honor School Board, one of the five finalists for the state’s Board of the Year Award, the Texas Association of School Administrators announced July 31.

The Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees was recently selected as the regional Board of the Year. The regional award recognizes 13 school boards across Texas for their dedication to the students they serve. The board then moved on to the next round in the process and was selected as one of the five finalists in the state, which also includes Frenship ISD, Pasadena ISD, Rockwall ISD, and Tyler ISD.

“It is truly an honor to have been selected as an honor board and state finalist for board of the year,” said current HCISD Board of Trustees President Dr. Nolan Perez. “Our board members are passionate about improving the lives of students. I want to congratulate my fellow board members; we are incredibly grateful for the hard work of our faculty, staff, and students.”

A committee composed of Texas school superintendents chaired by Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Superintendent Robin Ryan selected the five honor boards.

The committee selects the boards based on a set of judging criteria, including support for educational performance, commitment to a code of ethics, placement of the welfare of children served by the school system above personal or political motives, public relations efforts including community awareness and support for educational improvement projects, and school transformation initiatives.

“I am super proud to work alongside the distinguished Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees, whose foresight and united vision has resulted in this momentous award,” said Harlingen CISD Superintendent Dr. Art Cavazos. “Each time they meet and make vital and impactful decisions for our students, they utilize an insurmountable amount of creative acumen, intellectual power, and compassion.”

The 2018-19 Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees included board President Greg Powers, Vice-President Dr. Nolan Perez, Secretary Eladio Jaimez, as well as members Gerry Fleuriet, Dr. Bobby Muniz, Javier De Leon, and Dr. Belinda Reininger. All of the aforementioned trustees serve on the current board and will now move onto the next level in the recognition process.

“This is such a tremendous honor, and I want to congratulate and thank the board for their continued commitment to our students,” Cavazos said.

The Texas Association of School Administrators along with the Texas Association of School Boards will then announce the state’s Outstanding School Board of the Year at the associations’ convention in September.